Wulling Center Welcomes Two New Associate Members

The Wulling Center for Innovation & Scholarship in Pharmacy Education (W-CISPE) is a learning  community of scholars actively engaged in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SOTL) at the at the UMN COP. This year, W-CISPE welcomes two new Associate Members: Keri Hager and Shannon Reidt.

Associate members of W-CISPE are faculty or staff at the UMN COP with a track record of involvement in the SOTL (as indicated by three or more publications in pharmacy education-related journals) within the last five years. Associate members have also given at least two national presentations in a SOTL-related area.

 

Getting to Know: Keri D. Hager, PharmD, BCACP

hager_keri (1)
Keri D. Hager


How did you get started in pursuing SOTL?

From the moment I started teaching at the UMN COP, I began identifying teaching and learning strategies that did not seem to have the impact I wanted for student learning. I started trying different activities and methods aside from lecture (e.g. concept mapping, role playing, flipped classroom, case-based assignments) and although painful at times, I was really happy with the resulting student engagement, understanding, and retention.

It was exciting to find out that I had my own data to share! [My interest] has grown from that realization with additional course innovations and collaborations with colleagues at the UMN COP and beyond.

 

A colleague asked what the basis was for the changes I was making…That’s when I realized there was a whole body of work of SOTL.     

 

What excites you most about the SOTL?


Documenting and sharing what works (and doesn’t!) in pharmacy education.
I think it’s important to use evidence-based methods for teaching, learning, and assessment. Therefore, we need a solid evidence base to work from!

 

 

Getting to Know: Shannon L. Reidt, PharmD, MPH

 

shannon-reidt_2025
Shannon L. Reidt

How did you get started in pursuing SOTL?

After my first year as a course director for a biostatistics and literature evaluation course, I had concerns that students were learning content and not skills.  There was an ACCP Seed Grant available that would fund educational interventions.  I used the call for proposals as a chance to dive into the literature around teaching evidence-based medicine and to map out a plan to improve my course and disseminate my work.  

Prior to getting involved with SOTL, I was doing some scholarship related to my clinic practice.  It seemed natural to take the same methodical and scholarly approach to my teaching.                                                        

 

What excites you most about the SOTL?

I am excited about the SOTL related to evidence-based medicine (EBM) instruction and assessment.  One of the reasons I was drawn to this topic is its universal nature.  Any pharmacist needs EBM skills, and EBM is taught in most health professional training programs.  As a result, the possibilities for collaboration are really limitless.  Despite having a variety of learners (i.e. medical, nursing, therapy students), EBM instructors have similar challenges.  It’s exciting that the Wulling Center will lead to collaborations of researchers who will address these challenges.  

 

To read more about the scholarly SOTL work of these members, please visit the W-CISPE webpage.